fbpx
How to delete your Telegram account

How To Delete Telegram Account Manually Or Automatically

Sponsored

Telegram has become one of the fastest-growing social media apps right now. Apart from the fact that people trust it for its high-end security, most people are also very interested in the fact that it gives much control over the messaging features compared to the others.

Even though most of the features are easily accessible, some of the features demand some kind of in-depth knowledge to access, and deleting your account is one of those features.

Why Do You Want To Delete Your Telegram Account?

There are so many reasons why someone would like to delete their Telegram account. Below are some of the reasons.

  • You don’t want to use the Telegram app anymore.
  • You have multiple accounts and want some deleted
  • You want to change your number
  • You want to use the same username with a different account

If one of the reasons above best fit yours, then keep reading so you can know exactly what to do and if possible delete your Telegram account.

How To Delete Your Telegram Account Automatically

Telegram has an awesome feature that is also known as the self-destruct feature. This allows you to set a period between which if you have not accessed your account, it will be automatically deleted.

This feature works if you want to use your Telegram account for a period of time and abandon it. The period is set to 6 months by default and can go as far as a year and as early as a month.

You can easily delete your account by switching to a month and abandon the account. It will be deleted after a month. To access this setting, follow the procedure below.

Open Telegram and navigate to settings

How  To delete your telegram account
How To delete your telegram account
Sponsored

Navigate to “Privacy And Security”

How To delete your telegram account

Navigate to “Delete my account”

How To delete your telegram account

From the drop-down menu, you can select for how long you want the account to keep account before deleting it. You can select between a month and a year.

How To delete your telegram account

If you only want to use the same username with a different account or want to change your phone number, you don’t have to go through the steps above.

How To Delete Your Telegram Account Manually.

Deleting your account manually is one of the daunting tasks since it is not a feature embedded in the app. Should I say, it seems difficult probably because it’s not a feature on the app?

There is a simple support link that you can copy and paste in your browser and enter your number to delete your account.

Simply click or copy and paste this url into your browser https://my.telegram.org/auth

Telegram will send an authentication code to your Telegram account to confirm the deletion. As soon as you confirm, your account will be deleted.

If you want to change your number or want to use the same user name with a different Telegram account, you don’t have to delete the account.

Conclusion

It is easy to delete your Telegram account if you know where to go and how to do it. Just know that anything that happens after deleting your account including files that will be lost is at your own risk.

This article is purposely to help educate you.

If you have any comment or question, leave it in the comment box below.

Sponsored